Attn eBay Users: Did you get a strange e-mail recently?

I received an email (allegedly) from eBay with this in the subject line: FPO NOTICE: eBay Registration Suspension -Section 9

The message looks authentic, and it takes me to a non-secure site that also looks authentic to eBay. It then asks me to enter my credit/debit card info, and also asks for my PIN number. The PIN number is what bothered me – I’ve NEVER been asked for that online ever before, and I’m pretty sure this is fraud.

Here is the site that the e-mail takes me to. Maybe some of you more tech savvy than me can tell whether it’s actually eBay: http://signin.ebay.com.ws.ebayisapi.dll.usingssl.yes.signin.siteid.pagetype.copartnerid.a4xmgkby41fub4wsypldocrd6z0izjr7yqklzssh.stevene-burns.com/~lnfh/skin1/modules/Subscriptions/contact.php?co_partnerId=2&pUserId=&email=&siteid=0&pageType=&pa1=&i1=&bshowgif=&UsingSSL=&ru=&pp=&pa2=&errmsg=&runame=&ruparams=&ruproduct=&sid=&favoritenav=&confirm=&ebxPageType=&existingEmail=&isCheckout=&migrateVisitor&&MfcISAPICommand=ConfirmRegist

4 Responses to “Attn eBay Users: Did you get a strange e-mail recently?”

  1. wizjp says:

    THEY WILL NEVER ASK YOU FOR A PIN NUMBER.

  2. Jordane A says:

    No I don’t think I did get that one. Hopefully I won’t either.

    Maybe you should report it to Ebay and see what they say. If they its not from them I would ignore it. There are computer whizes out there who can duplicate ANYTHING and scam people out of money or simply use your credit card information to rack up a high bill for you or even worse if they want your checking account they will rob you blind.

  3. kingtots says:

    DO NOT give them any info!!!!!! it is a theft identity site!!! sites are even using bank names to get your info. the sites look legit, but those sites should never have to request that info from you. check out this link>>>>

    http://www.usdoj.gov/criminal/fraud/internet/

  4. ruby says:

    If Ebay wants information from you, they will ask you to logon to their site. NEVER click on a link to the site. Always type http://www.ebay.com into your browser and then go to the accounts page to find out what info they really need. Most of the emails you will get that say they are from ebay and want info are spoofs. Report them by forwarding the email to spoofs@ebay.com. By the way, scroll over the link you have above and look at where the link actually takes you at the bottom of the screen. It’s not really ebay, read all the cr@p at the end of the link. That’s the first clue.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

Advert

Powered by WordPress Lab
Powered by Yahoo! Answers