I got an email from eBay, is it a scam?

Dear Value Member,

We are contacting you to inform you our Account Review Team
identified some unusual activity in your account.
In accordance with our rules and to ensure that your account
has not been compromised, access to your account was limited.
Your account access will remain suspended until this issue is
resolved.

To secure your account and quickly restore full access we will
require some additional information from you.

Please, click the link bellow in order to fulfill the Security
Team requirements:

e B a y – C u s t o m e r S e r v i c e

The process is mandatory, and if not completed, your account
will be subject to temporary suspension.

Regards,
Shannon Talbot
eBay Billing Department.

Ive gotten this email before and it says that I wont be able to use my account anymore but I have, many times. Im pretty sure this is a scam, but still, what do you guys think?
Ohh thank you! I wish I can give you all the best answer but I cant =[ I did think this was a fishin incident because when I click on the link it looked different

13 Responses to “I got an email from eBay, is it a scam?”

  1. ignoramus says:

    This is a scam. It is called phishing. If you hold your mouse over the link they want you to use, you will see in the lower bar on the screen that the url is not ebay’s url.
    This is a form of ID theft. Once they have your user name and ID, they can use it to cheat other people using your account.

  2. those that really matter to you says:

    it is a scam

  3. Matthew M says:

    Yes it is

  4. scorpio says:

    i woul’d ignore it.

  5. bem meh says:

    You have two options, first being the best, go to the website (ebay in this case) and check out before clicking any link on the email. Second, when you receive emails do not click on links before looking at your browser, when pointing at the link, to see the adress it comes from. If it does not come from ebay then it’s a scam.

  6. MILAYA says:

    Don’t answer them! It’s a scam!

  7. bostonianinmo says:

    It’s a scam. eBay NEVER sends out such notices. Forward it to spoof@ebay.com so that they can get the rogue site shut down.

  8. agutierrez44 says:

    I’ve gotten that e-mail too. Don’t open it! If you haven’t had any problems with e-bay recently, then there are no problems. There is one with Paypal too, so be careful.

  9. Magic One says:

    It is probably a phishing scam, trying to get you to reveal sensitive information they can use in identify theft. To be sure, you can forward the message to spoof@ebay.com. They will give you a definitive answer.

  10. SKull says:

    It’s called phishing and don’t fall for it, delete the email and move on with every day life :o )

  11. DrD says:

    Yes, it is a scam. There are two similar scams, another from ebay informing you that payment is due for a purchase made by you, and a paypal letter just like the above. Neither of these sites will ever send you this kind of email so always assume that it is a scam.

    Scambusters has lists of scams: http://www.scambusters.org/ebay-scams.html

    But if you are unsure, you can forward the email to ebay’s spoof address and they’ll tell you for sure: http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/questions/email-authenticity.html

  12. piper54alpha says:

    DO NOT REPLY TO THAT EMAIL!! IT IS A SCAM!!!!!!!

    eBay does not send emails asking for personal information, passwords, or credit card information. EVER!

  13. CommanderJim says:

    It IS a scam or "Phishing"…..do as Bostonian says and report it to eBay ASAP!

    spoof@ebay.com

    They have tried me 3 times or more!!
    I am also the owner of $178,000,000….according to some really good friends in Nigeria that are looking out for my best interest!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply

Advert

Powered by WordPress Lab
Powered by Yahoo! Answers